RIDE Award for Best Review

Thanks to a generous contribution of the Faculty of Humanities of the University of Graz, RIDE is pleased to be able to announce an award for the best review published in RIDE, worth 250€.

Previous winners of the award

RIDE 9: Review of Papyri.info, by Lucia Vannini

The prize committee – Claudia Resch (Österreichische Akademie der Wissenschaften), Roman Bleier (Universität Graz), Stefan Dumont (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften), and Martina Scholger (Universität Graz) – has decided to award the prize to Lucia Vannini (University of London) for her outstanding Review of Papyri.info, published in issue 9 of RIDE.

Jury statement:

In her outstanding review of the complex and historically grown platform Papyri.info, Lucia Vannini registers its strengths and weaknesses comprehensively and critically, showing her familiarity with the resource and the materials it comprises. The resource is contextualized in that scenarios for reuse and other projects making use of the materials are described. The jury especially highlighted that in the review article, not only the usage experiences of the reviewer herself are described but also the results of interviews conducted with other users. User expectations and potential misunderstandings are set out in a constructive way and sound suggestions for improvement are made by the reviewer.

RIDE 8: Rezension der Deutschsprachigen Wikisource, by Susanne Haaf

The prize committee – Peter Stadler (Universität Paderborn), Roman Bleier (Universität Graz), Franz Fischer (Universität zu Köln), and Philipp Steinkrüger (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) – has decided to award the prize to Susanne Haaf (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften) for her outstanding review of the German section of Wikisource, published in issue 8 of RIDE.

Jury statement:

The committee was especially impressed by Haaf’s familiarity with the material, which is evidenced in her review by meticulous attention to detail. Haaf’s overview and description of the project condenses the complexity of the material and organizing system in an exemplary way and allows the reader to readily comprehend the underlying ideas. This general picture is enriched by a closer inspection of several key aspects, such as Wikisource’s way of handling metadata, or the benefits and snares of a community edition. Finally, the pertinent and concise criticism Haaf provides, and the suggestions for improvement that accompany these criticisms underline the review’s excellence. As such, the committee entertains the hope that Haaf’s text will help to communicate the importance of reviewing to the scientific community.

RIDE 7: The ‘Beta Dilemma’ – A Review of the Faust Edition, by Tessa Gengnagel

The prize committee – Dirk Van Hulle (University of Antwerps), Ulrike Henny-Krahmer (University of Würzburg), Martina Scholger (Graz University), and Georg Vogeler (Graz University) – has decided to award the prize to Tessa Gengnagel (a.r.t.e.s. Graduate School for the Humanities, Cologne) for her outstanding text “The ‘Beta Dilemma’ – A Review of the Faust Edition”, published in issue 7 of RIDE.

Jury statement:

In her detailed discussion of the Faust-Edition, Tessa Gengnagel surpasses the level of the local review and draws attention to a broader theme (the ‘beta dilemma’ between an editions’s updatability and its aspiration for authority) that is becoming a pressing issue in digital scholarly editing in general. Gengnagel’s thorough knowledge of the technical and the methodological aspects of digital editing coupled with her clear and focussed style make for an entertaining and instructive reading that should arouse not only the interest of the editors of the Faust-Edition, but of anyone grappling with the ‘beta dilemma’.

RIDE 6: Litteraturbanken, by Mats Dahlström and Wout Dillen

The prize committee – Evelyn Gius from Hamburg University, Malte Rehbein from Passau University, Philipp Steinkrüger from Ruhr-University Bochum, and Georg Vogeler from Graz University – has decided to award the prize to Mats Dahlström (University of Borås) and Wout Dillen (University of Antwerp) for their outstanding review of Litteraturbanken, the Swedish Literature bank.

Jury statement:

The review is an elegantly written text which not only provides all information required for the reader to familiarize themselves with the reviewed project, but which also engages in reflections on methodology, on the selection of texts, and on the question which type of text collection Litteraturbanken instantiates. The authors prove their expertise in the field, praising the project where it excels and criticising it where it falls short; it is to be expected that their suggestions of how to improve this already outstanding project will not fall on deaf ears.


For the following six issues (starting with RIDE 6), the best review of each issue will be awarded a prize of 250 Euro.

Criteria of selection include, but are not limited to:

  • Consideration of the relevant discussions regarding the technological aspects as well as the content-specific aspects of the project under review
  • Level of reflection
  • Consideration of the catalogue of criteria (see the catalogue for scholarly editions and the catalogue for text collections and corpora)
  • Situating of the project under review in the ongoing discussion about the digital paradigm and in particular digital editions or text collections and corpora
  • Style

The winner will be selected by the editorial board of RIDE in conjunction with one or more internationally recognised DH experts.



Published: Apr 2019